II Belarusian Translation Forum Overview

II Belarusian forum of translators and interpreters

Dear colleagues!

On 29 September 2018, the day before the International Translation Day established by the UNO in 2017 on the initiative of the Republic of Belarus, Imaguru business club, Minsk hosted II Belarusian Translation Forum (#tib_forum2018). Judging by a large number of comments you made during the event itself and then in social media, for many people our forum was a source of useful information, creative inspiration, new ideas and high spirits. Our team is pleased to realize that all our efforts were not in vain. J We really enjoyed it, too. There is no doubt that Belarus has had few venues to exchange knowledge and experience, to self-improve, to elaborate strategies in order to solve problem situations and we are very glad that our team has managed to arrange such a high-level event for translators and interpreters in Belarus.

The forum gathered 140 people from Belarus (Minsk, Grodno, Mogilev, Vitebsk, Mozyr, Borisov, Orsha, Dzerzhinsk, Smorgon and Novopolotsk), Ukraine (Kiev, Kharkov and Vinnitsa) and Russia (Moscow, Saint Petersburg, Tula, Vladimir and Krasnoyarsk). Thank you for joining us! Your support was very important for our initiative.

All the participants of the forum received an event evaluation form. Those who fill it in will have an opportunity to win a free ticket to the next Belarusian Translation Forum. The name of the lucky one will be announced on 1 November 2018.

You can find photos from the event here.

We would like to mark an easy, warm and friendly atmosphere that prevailed during the forum. It was obvious that a lot of like-minded persons and professionals in tune with each other were gathered together. Each report was followed by a range of questions.

Briefly About Reports

We are very grateful to our speakers. It’s them who made our event interesting, useful and unforgettable. The listeners admitted that sometimes it was tough for them to choose between two reports. That’s why the participants will have had access to all recordings by the end of October 2018.

Alexey Kozoulyaev with his report on trends in audio-visual translation and the current cognitive revolution set the pace of our forum.

Adelaide Kuznetsova and Aliona Savchenko compared pros and cons of being a freelancer and full-time translator in Belarus, gave an insight into problems that translators and interpreters come across on a daily basis and shared their experience in combating stereotypes existing in the world of translation.

Olga Tarasova told us about statistics that help her comply with deadlines and calculate acceptable rates. The most noteworthy part was a table that you can use yourself to optimize your work.

Ilya Mishchenko introduced the listeners to world associations of translators and interpreters (international and national ones, unions based on the type of services or translators and interpreters’ categories, informal associations). He dwelled on the Russian experience and gave a few tips to create a Belarusian association of translators and interpreters.

Alena Talapila dedicated her report in the Belarusian language to financial planning for freelancers. She told us how not to be afraid of counting your money, how to create a smart budget and change it according to your own needs fearlessly.

Anna Kolomiitseva shared her secret of working with two foreign languages (German and English) and told us about the specific character of these languages from the perspective of getting ready for orders, interpreter’s skills and marketing.

Vladimir Burdenkov and Yuri Burdenkov — a dynasty of simultaneous interpreters — touched upon two topics. Vladimir Burdenkov spoke about translation organizations, such as AIIC, DG SCIC, DG INTE (LINC). Yuri Burdenkov emphasized collaboration of a team of simultaneous interpreters in a booth and compared an ideal and real situation.

Yuliya Tsimashenka and Alexander Markevitch presented their vision of a Belarusian translation association in the future and prospects of establishing such an organization. The topic gave rise to a lively debate that went far beyond the time limit. It goes without saying that many people had been thinking about an association, that’s why it’s necessary to continue this discussion as a part of working group meetups.

Yuliya Molotkova told us about her experience as an author of a comprehensive textbook on translation and interpreting from Chinese.

The topic of Denis Shoot’s report was chuchotage/whispering interpretation, one of the types of interpreting, and gave some practical advice to become a good chuchotage interpreter.

Andrey Yasharov dwelled on his methods to diversify his work and told us about acquiring additional specializations.

Sponsors

The primary sponsor of II Belarusian Translation Forum was Nota Bene translation bureau that has already been on the Belarusian translation market for 17 years.

Literra, a translation company, Interzone, a union of independent translators and interpreters, Interlingua and Advanced International Translations were also among our sponsors.

Information partners of the forum: Proz.com, a platform for translators and interpreters, and UTIC (Ukrainian Translation Industry Conference).

All the speakers, participants and volunteers received a licence for AnyCount, a word and sign count program as a gift. 4 participants of the forum won a TO3000 Professional licence each. Congratulations!

ProZ.com provided a free access to the five most popular videos on personal branding, freelance translator website, marketing plan and other aspects for the participants of the forum. Furthermore, the participants may enjoy a Plus Package membership at Proz.com at a discount.

Contacts exchange

A major innovation was the introduction of contact exchange. It helped employers reach translators and interpreters, as well as editors. There were representatives of 13 companies from Belarus and Russia — Nota Bene, Interzone, Interlingua, Literra, Translation Studio, ADM Consult, Technical Translation & Software, NeoTran, Legalizuem.ru translation legalization center, Effectiff Group, Angira, Roid and LINGVA-BY. We hope that the contacts established at the forum will transform into a mutually beneficial cooperation.

We thank all the colleagues who showed great interest for a stand with books translated into Belarusian by Halijafy publishing house. We are eager to make books in Belarusian more popular.

We announced the winners of My Non-Translation Hobby photo contest. They are Elena Petrova from Russia, Yuri Polyakov from Belarus and Nadezhda Egurnova from Ukraine. Congratulations to the winners! The prizes were either presented to them at the forum or sent by post.

Our team

Let’s recall the names of the team of organizers who arranged the forum as volunteers: Yuliya Tsimashenka (originator and organizer), Olga Buday, Olga Loiko, Elena Loiko, Nadezhda Karabanovich, Ekaterina Zubchenok, Alexander Markevitch and Anna Dziusekava.

About our plans for the future:

Information about future events will be posted on our website and social media.

Итоги II Белорусского форума переводчиков

II Белорусский форум переводчиков

Здравствуйте, дорогие коллеги!

29 сентября 2018 г., накануне Международного дня перевода, учрежденного ООН в 2017 г. по инициативе Республики Беларусь, в бизнес-клубе «Имагуру» в Минске с успехом прошел II Белорусский форум переводчиков #tib_forum2018. Судя по большому количеству отзывов на самом мероприятии и в социальных сетях, форум стал для многих источником полезной информации, творческого вдохновения, новых идей и хорошего настроения. Нашей команде очень приятно осознавать, что усилия были не зря. J Мы также получили большое удовольствие от происходящего. Беларуси не хватало площадок для обмена знаниями и опытом, самосовершенствования, выработки стратегий разрешения проблемных ситуаций, и мы очень рады, что нашей команде удалось организовать мероприятие такого уровня для переводчиков в Беларуси.

В форуме приняли участие 140 человек из Беларуси (Минск, Гродно, Могилев, Витебск, Новополоцк, Мозырь, Борисов, Орша, Дзержинск и Сморгонь), Украины (Киев, Харьков и Винница) и России (Москва, Санкт-Петербург, Тула, Владимир и Красноярск).

Мы благодарим вас за то, что нашли время и возможность поддержать наше начинание, коллеги!

Все участники получили форму оценки мероприятия с возможностью выиграть один бесплатный билет на следующий Белорусский форум переводчиков. 1 ноября 2018 г. мы объявим имя счастливчика.

Фото с мероприятия вы сможете найти здесь.

Хотим отметить естественную, теплую и доброжелательную атмосферу на форуме. Чувствовалось, что собралось много единомышленников и профессионалов на одной волне. За каждым докладом следовало много вопросов.

Кратко о выступлениях

Спасибо большое докладчикам! Вы сделали наше мероприятие интересным, полезным и незабываемым. Судя по отзывам слушателей, порой выбор между докладами был мучительным. Доступ к видеозаписям всех выступлений мы предоставим участникам до конца октября 2018 г.

Прекрасный темп форуму задал Алексей Козуляев с докладом о тенденциях в аудиовизуальном переводе и когнитивной революции, которая сейчас происходит.

Аделаида Кузнецова и Алёна Савченко сравнили преимущества и недостатки работы фрилансером и штатным переводчиком в Беларуси, взглянули на проблемы в ежедневной работе переводчиков, поделились своим опытом борьбы со стереотипами в переводческой деятельности.

Ольга Тарасова поведала о статистике, которая помогает ей соблюдать сроки и рассчитывать приемлемые ставки. Особый интерес вызвала таблица, которую можно применять для самостоятельного ведения аналогичной статистики.

Илья Мищенко ознакомил слушателей с информацией об ассоциациях переводчиков в мире (международных, национальных, объединениях по виду услуг или категориям переводчиков, неформальных объединениях), подробно остановился на российском опыте и дал несколько рекомендаций в отношении белорусского сообщества переводчиков.

Елена Толопило посвятила свой доклад на белорусском языке финансовому планированию для фрилансеров. Она рассказала, как перестать бояться считать деньги, как создать эффективный бюджет и смело менять его согласно собственным нуждам.

Анна Коломийцева поделилась секретами работы с двумя иностранными языками — немецким и английским — и рассказала о специфике этих языков с точки зрения подготовки к заказам, переводческих навыков и маркетинга.

Владимир Бурденков и Юрий Бурденков — династия переводчиков-синхронистов — затронули две темы. Владимир Бурденков рассказал о переводческих организациях AIIC, DG SCIC, DG INTE (LINC). Юрий Бурденков сделал акцент на взаимопомощи команды синхронистов в кабине и сопоставил «как надо» vs. «что имеем».

Юлия Тимошенко и Александр Маркевич представили свое видение ассоциации переводчиков Беларуси в будущем и перспектив создания такой организации. Тема вызвала бурную дискуссию, которая даже немного вышла за пределы отведенного времени. Чувствовалось, что над вопросом ассоциации думали многие, поэтому необходимо подумать над продолжением обсуждения в рамках встреч рабочей группы.

Юлия Молоткова рассказала о своем опыте автора комплексного пособия по устному и письменному переводу с китайского языка.

Денис Шут поведал о таком виде перевода, как шушотаж, и дал практические советы по эффективной практике шушотажа.

Андрей Яшаров поделился способами диверсификации работы и рассказал о путях получения дополнительных специализаций.

Спонсоры

Генеральным спонсором II Белорусского форума переводчиков стало агентство переводов «Нота Бене», работающее на рынке переводов Беларуси уже 17 лет.

Спонсорскую поддержку предоставили также переводческая компания Литерра, содружество независимых переводчиков Interzone, компании «Интерлингва» и Advanced International Translations.

Информационные партнеры форума: платформа для переводчиков ProZ.com и украинская конференция переводческой отрасли UTIC.

Все докладчики, участники и волонтеры получили в подарок от компании AIT коды на программу для подсчета слов и символов AnyCount. 4 участника форума выиграли по одной лицензии на программу TO3000 Professional. Поздравляем!

Компания ProZ.com предоставила участникам форума бесплатный доступ к пяти самым популярным видео, посвященным персональному бренду, созданию сайта для переводчика-фрилансера, составлению маркетингового плана и другим темам. Кроме того, участники получили скидку на членство Plus Package со скидкой.

Биржа контактов

Важным нововведением форума стала биржа контактов, которая помогла связать работодателей с переводчиками и редакторами. Надеемся, что налаженные связи перерастут во взаимовыгодное сотрудничество. На бирже присутствовали представители 13 компаний из Беларуси и России: Нота Бене, Interzone, Интерлингва, Литерра, Студия переводов, АДМ Консалт, Technical Translation & Software, НэоТран, Центр легализации переводов «Легализуем.ру», Эффектифф Групп, Ангира, Ройд и LINGVA-BY.

Благодарим всех коллег, которые активно интересовались стендом переводной литературы на белорусском языке издательства «Галіяфы» и приобрели их книги. Мы очень хотим, чтобы литература на белорусском языке стала более популярной.

Мы подвели результаты фотоконкурса «Мое непереводческое хобби». Победителями стали Елена Петрова из России, Юрий Поляков из Беларуси и Надежда Егурнова из Украины. Поздравляем победителей! Подарки вручены или отправлены по почте.

Наша команда

Напомним имена команды организаторов, которые занимались подготовкой форума на волонтерских началах: Юлия Тимошенко (автор идеи и организатор), Ольга Будай, Ольга Лойко, Елена Лойко, Надежда Карабанович, Екатерина Зубченок, Александр Маркевич и Анна Дюсекова.

О планах на будущее

Информация о будущих мероприятиях будет публиковаться на нашем сайте и в социальных сетях.
Благодарим, что поддержали II Белорусский форум переводчиков.